Dogs Dogs and More Dogs

So this week I decided to try something new, instead of reporting on one subject, I decided to include a brief-ish paragraph on a few different articles in the news. Some good and Some bad.

So did you know in China, all’s you have to do to look rich is own a Tibetan mastiff? Crazy right using dogs for fashion and to show off wealth? According to the article in America these dogs only cost seven hundred dollars, but in China they can sell for thousands upon thousands. It’s kind of disgusting how they use dogs as status cues. I get that celebrities here use dogs to show off like Paris Hilton’s chihuahua but seriously in China? That’s a laugh and a half considering how they treat dogs on the streets. Dogs and cats are food items….”Dogs bark and whine behind high chain-link fences, some of them gnawing the wire so hard they bleed at the mouths while cats packed into crowded cages cower in fear if anyone approaches.” On the plus side according to several news articles including the one linked it talks about how legislation might pass that will ban eating cats and dogs so kudos for finally figuring that one out. They are also the country that decided to kill 36,000 stray dogs to get rid of rabies because I’m sure every dog had rabies right? China is most well known for it’s political party affiliations, but what really needs to be looked at is how they treat their animals, good job killing thousands of innocent animals but paying thousands to get a type of breed just to “look” rich. Man I tell you what I’m loving China more and more every day bahahaha.

This picture was found at this site.

The Iditarod ended with no dog deaths this year, an 1100 mile race that has been around since 1973. Fun fact did you know that the Iditarod trail was what was used by gold rushers? Once they were dropped off in port they had to use dogs to get to their final destination. Oof but could you imagine 1100 miles to run in the freezing cold? According to the first article, 6 dogs died in 2009 alone during this race. Out of the 55 racers that finished this year no dog died, I’m amazed and quite pleased. That’s quite a feat for dogs, 2 weeks, 1100 miles. “Mushers attributed their teams overall health to the relatively good trail conditions, low temperatures and the lack of a major storm.” Kind of makes me want to watch Iron Will again! Happy thoughts though, maybe one day I’ll get to watch this historical race in action, and hope that this no dog dying thing becomes a trend instead of a one year fluke. Also check out the Iditarod official webpage, I hope I get to write from these press releases one day that’d be awesome!

This picture was taken from this site.

Maximum seven years in prison for a couple who let 5 “vicious” dogs run loose and attack 4 children who were with their mother walking. According to the article one dog was shot when trying to attack a police officer, which I understand that’s a thing with them. Can’t find the article now but a few months back there was an article about how police men shot a chihuahua puppy who was patiently waiting on it’s owners doorsteps to arrive home when it bit a policeman trying to pick it up. Owners returned to a bloody door, and a “he bit me” from the police. It was a puppy chihuahua so I’ve no doubt in my mind they’d kill a “vicious” dog. I put quotes because I don’t believe any dog is inherently vicious, I believe they have to be trained or raised to be vicious. The rest of the dogs were rounded up and caged until they could match the dogs to the bites. The ultimate plan for the dogs rounded up is to euthanize them. Considering the extent of the attack I suppose I’ll let that slip but when the dogs are killed and the owners who made them that way only get a max of 7 years prison which oh by the way hasn’t been decided if that’s what they are getting, that seems pretty messed up to me. They could easily get more dogs when they are free and do the same thing again, the owners are at fault not the dogs, lock them up for life, should be attempted murder via dog. Yeesh!

I sincerely hope you learned something from my blog today, I know the format is different and there are more topics covered, but the links provided give a lot of information I feel. I also think I covered each topic well enough. Let me know your thoughts on the new format and whether or not you feel you learned anything from it and what I can do to change it, or go back to the old format. Thank you for your feedback.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Dogs Dogs and More Dogs”

  1. Laura Beth Says:

    Chelsea – I like this format A LOT better! It’s nice to have different stories broken up into chunks, rather than long strings of text in your previous posts. I also like how the pictures break up the text. The links are very educational and I enjoyed how many you had throughout the entire post.

    In addition, your conversational style is much more relaxed and casual here, like you’re speaking to the reading. I find this comforting that I can almost hear you speaking these words as I read them on the page.

    My vote: Stay with this format! It works so much better and it is not nearly as overwhelming and exhausting! I applaud and commend you for trying something different and asking for feedback.

    Great job, and I can’t wait to read next week!

    -Laura Beth 🙂

  2. Megan Says:

    I agree with Lauren Beth! I’m lovin’ the new format. I like how each story was separated with picture rather than just a title. I also like your conversational style as well as the sarcasm you threw in.
    Keep it up!

  3. placecm Says:

    Aw yay thank you guys, only took me a whole semester of doing this project to figure this out haha. Hopefully not all my blogs were entirely exhausting etc. But I’m glad you like this format more, I can definitely rock this every week haha. Thank you for the feedback!

  4. kjcenters Says:

    That puppy biting the cop story really pisses me off. That is the biggest crap story ever. I hate ignorant people.

    I love the fact the iditarod went well this year! Coolest race ever, pun not intended. It’s sad dogs die in it but it’s one of the most amazing traditions ever. Iron Will and Balto come to mind.

    Also, the content reads faster than it used to. Good work Chels!

  5. Janet Says:

    Really like the new format, Chelsea!! You’ve got lots of topics covered, but very easy to read. You mentioned China, the Iditarod AND “vicious” dogs.

    China – don’t forget the dog & cat fur they love so much. I was in a thrift shop today and found a little furry toy fox. On the bottom it said “Goat Fur” and “Made in China”. I busted out laughing because I KNEW that it wasn’t goat fur & that numerous dogs suffered to put fur on that one little toy.

    Iditarod: I lived in Alaska for 2-1/2 years and photographed 2 starts and one end of this race. Yes, there are some of the mushers that could care less about their dogs. But then there are some that adored their dogs – read up on Susan Butcher. Unfortunately, she passed away in 2006, but I met her in 2004 in the airport at Fairbanks, Alaska. She was sending 2 of her dogs to Anchorage & it was obvious she LOVED them (I didn’t understand until later why she sent them). She was a truly great lady & force on that Iditarod trail. And those dogs – they LOVE TO RUN. It’s in their faces and tongues hanging out!

    Vicious dogs: It seems that cops are shooting dogs everywhere – and most of the time, it is for absolutely no reason at all. I believe some of them get that gun and it goes to their head.

    And thank you for pointing out the vicious dog problem is a HUMAN problem. ANY DOG can be made vicious – just starve it, or beat it, ignore it, tie it on a short chain outside while it watches the world go by, feed it gun powder or steroids (dog fighters)… and you have yourself a dog with all kinds of pent up energy inside. But, yeah… it’s the dog’s fault. Unfortunately, they never talk about the circumstances that surround a dog attack, just the dog. Remember, there are 2 sides to every story.

  6. placecm Says:

    Kyle-Thank you for your praise, I gotta admit I blanked on including the chihuahua story in there so I was confused at first but then I remembered haha. Ya no that pissed me off when I first read it might have been over the summer but it wasn’t too long ago. Very unfortunate for sure.

    Janet- China- could have been happy not knowing that but it’s good to know, do they even have goats in China? eww not that I buy fuzzy figurines anyways but that it quite disturbing. Such an awful country in the way they treat their animals.

    Iditarod- Good point I didn’t mention that although it is a long trail, these dogs are bred and trained for that type of weather. Not all mushers are like the evil russian guy in Iron Will, but I’m so jealous you got to photograph the start and end of the iditarod. I hope to one day be up there for that, I think it would be an amazing experience!

    Vicious dog- Thank you, ya I think it’s important that people know that, I think way too many people think it’s the dogs fault and it’s definitely important to get that word out there!

Leave a Reply

